level bug..

Discussion about Helbreath Server Files.
Post Reply
ilovegals
just visiting
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 2:26 am

Post by ilovegals »

i got my server files by albert... i set my max level as 500 in npc.cfg.. but the problem is, whenever i get till lvl 289... it goes crazy.. after i from 289... it just shoot up straight to level 300+++... this really makes me sick... help pls

thanks... sry 4 that sux english...
wannabee
Loyal fan
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 12:42 am

Post by wannabee »

i'm afraid this is one of the biggest set backs of HB high level servers ('level jumps' are what they are known as)

Technical reason:
The var used to store the exp for a player is a INT and this is 32bit (say it's like -3mil to 3min, not really 3mil, it's a example) and when it goes over the biggest number it can store, it emptys the int (sets it to the smallest number possible, in this case -3mil), thats why you get negative number exp. I tryed to fix this by setting the exp value to a 'unsigned __int64' (which has no negative and is 2x as big as a int). This only helped till like 490??? or was it 1k level... dono, it helped a little to a certain extent but didn't fix it. (there is nothing bigger than a __int64)

Confusing to you? well, don't worry, this confuses all of us :( <_< :unsure: :blink:

edit: even if it is a int, it shouldn't jump untill lvl 314 (i simulated :lol: ), unless you set the exp to super high and jumps 20lvls per slime...
<!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Human knowleag belongs to THE WORLD<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='signature'><!--QuoteEEnd--><br>So i highly dislike people who keep to their proud selfs... thats why i wanna share everything i got with you guys :D
Nemeliom
Loyal fan
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 10:20 pm
Contact:

Post by Nemeliom »

well... something more.. remember to use a Client with more than 200 Max Stats :wacko:
<img src='http://jove.prohosting.com/mxghost/Neme ... y%20Mx.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' /> <span style='color:blue'>Do you like mi pic?</span><br><span style='color:red'>Good Luck 4 every1<br>Mx - Nemeliom</span>
forgottensoul
noob
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 7:30 pm

Post by forgottensoul »

i noe this is an old topic but can someone teach me how to set the exp value to a 'unsigned __int64' ?
cocho
Loyal fan
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:33 pm
Location: Caracas - Venezuela
Contact:

Post by cocho »

wannabee damit, i understood a shit haha, too much english for me ^_^
anyways, going a bit off topic, anyone have there the .bat that creates the ascII folders in account? would be good... i lost mine (i have the zip with all folders but i preffer the .bat :rolleyes: )
locobans
Outpost Junkie
Posts: 2264
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Behind You
Contact:

Post by locobans »

cocho wrote: wannabee damit, i understood a shit haha, too much english for me ^_^
anyways, going a bit off topic, anyone have there the .bat that creates the ascII folders in account? would be good... i lost mine (i have the zip with all folders but i preffer the .bat :rolleyes: )
B) heres is the file that creates the folders from ASC1 to ASC256

<a href='http://hb.magsec4.net/files/ASCII_Folders.zip' target='_blank'>http://hb.magsec4.net/files/ASCII_Folders.zip</a> B)
QUOTE (ADDKiD @ Dec 1 2006, 4:01 PM) <br>You guys make me laugh alot, half the shit I say, is bullshit...<br><br><img src='http://img485.imageshack.us/img485/492/banssig1ng.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' /><br><br><b>I see no changes at all, wake up in the morning and ask myself...<br>Is life worth living? Should I blast myself?</b><br><br><b><a href='http://2paclegacy.com' target='_blank'>2PacLegacy.com</a></b>
forgottensoul
noob
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 7:30 pm

Post by forgottensoul »

oh man, i found a post made by hypnotoad saying that if u change the int the server wil disallow the char data files to be saved properly...
perhaps the onli way the solve this is to have a lower lv server
cocho
Loyal fan
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:33 pm
Location: Caracas - Venezuela
Contact:

Post by cocho »

locobans wrote:
cocho wrote: wannabee damit, i understood a shit haha, too much english for me ^_^
anyways, going a bit off topic, anyone have there the .bat that creates the ascII folders in account? would be good... i lost mine (i have the zip with all folders but i preffer the .bat  :rolleyes: )
B) heres is the file that creates the folders from ASC1 to ASC256

<a href='http://hb.magsec4.net/files/ASCII_Folders.zip' target='_blank'>http://hb.magsec4.net/files/ASCII_Folders.zip</a> B)
thanks but i have this zip... im searching for the ".bat" file...
locobans
Outpost Junkie
Posts: 2264
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Behind You
Contact:

Post by locobans »

ahh lol dont have that :D
QUOTE (ADDKiD @ Dec 1 2006, 4:01 PM) <br>You guys make me laugh alot, half the shit I say, is bullshit...<br><br><img src='http://img485.imageshack.us/img485/492/banssig1ng.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' /><br><br><b>I see no changes at all, wake up in the morning and ask myself...<br>Is life worth living? Should I blast myself?</b><br><br><b><a href='http://2paclegacy.com' target='_blank'>2PacLegacy.com</a></b>
deese
just visiting
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 3:09 am

Post by deese »

marburg and me found some kind of fix for this problem, you'll have to do some source editting though

in game.cpp :

// altered by hb XXXXXXXXXX for high level bugfix. Need to divide all xp values in npc.cfg by 100
// iRet = iGetLevelExp(iLevel - 1) + iLevel * ( 50 + (iLevel * (iLevel / 17) * (iLevel / 17) ) ); <---- original line, replace with

iRet = iGetLevelExp(iLevel - 1) + ( iLevel * ( 50 + (iLevel * (iLevel / 17) * (iLevel / 17) ) ) / 100);


in npc.cfg : divide all (for every monster) the min exp and max exp values by 100, easiest way is just to delete the last two digits

Finally you'll have to make a new xp-table, based on that new formula
Until now we hadnt had anymore lvl jumps, and highest lvl is close to 400 at the moment, before we did this fix, characters started to jump at about lvl 317
Hope this helps
Thunder
just visiting
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 9:20 am

Post by Thunder »

I prolly sound dumb, but how do I go about doing the source editing. My problem isnt really as much the max lvl as it is getting a negative exp value at my max lvl of 300. It is very annoying having to change the exp back to positive every time this happens. For that reason my server hasn't gone up yet. So if u could tell me where to get the game.ccp and how to do it or something it would be very helpful. TY
Post Reply