about tsearch !

Discussion about Helbreath Server Files.
Post Reply
dumper
Regular
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:25 pm

Post by dumper »

i noticed some ppl can crash other ppls client but not cause of bad magic config .. i guess they using tsearch or similar program so they can cast magics that are not in the hgs magic cfg list ...
anyone got some easy fix for that in client cause when i run in debug mode i always get the asm code and it wont jump in source like with other crashes :S
bone-you
Spamtastic
Posts: 1310
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:12 am

Post by bone-you »

Gotta love that. Casting spells over 100 eats into skills list. After like 130, it crashes everyone including yourself if your own client isn't patched. Just make it so you can't cast a spell id over 99.
<img src='http://www.helbreathx.net/sig/sig.jpeg' border='0' alt='user posted image' /><br><a href='http://mafia.cheats4us.org/index.php?x=231030' target='_blank'>#1 on Mafia :D</a><br><!--QuoteBegin-Slipknight+--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Slipknight)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->100mb Internet, burstable too 10GB oc192<br>his speed can go up too 10gbs<br>...<br>Yes my car can have a top speed of 1000mph<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='signature'><!--QuoteEEnd--><br>^^ I wonder where the retard went to.
dumper
Regular
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:25 pm

Post by dumper »

um if im not wrong thats already in client ..
in the usemagic function it checks : if imagicno < 0 || imagicno >= 100 return !
and its already enough if the magic is not in ur configs .. if someone casts then ur client crashes .. so he could just use regular numbers and client still crashes ! well the regular numbers arent the problem i guess cause i could just use some placeholders for that numbers but how can i test if that "out of range" numbers above 99 are working ?
bone-you
Spamtastic
Posts: 1310
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:12 am

Post by bone-you »

dumper wrote: um if im not wrong thats already in client ..
in the usemagic function it checks : if imagicno < 0 || imagicno >= 100 return !
and its already enough if the magic is not in ur configs .. if someone casts then ur client crashes .. so he could just use regular numbers and client still crashes ! well the regular numbers arent the problem i guess cause i could just use some placeholders for that numbers but how can i test if that "out of range" numbers above 99 are working ?
Just put a check in the server if the spell id is over 99. If it is, ban him instantly. No one casts spells over 99 unless they are hacking.
<img src='http://www.helbreathx.net/sig/sig.jpeg' border='0' alt='user posted image' /><br><a href='http://mafia.cheats4us.org/index.php?x=231030' target='_blank'>#1 on Mafia :D</a><br><!--QuoteBegin-Slipknight+--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Slipknight)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->100mb Internet, burstable too 10GB oc192<br>his speed can go up too 10gbs<br>...<br>Yes my car can have a top speed of 1000mph<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='signature'><!--QuoteEEnd--><br>^^ I wonder where the retard went to.
dumper
Regular
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:25 pm

Post by dumper »

but isnt that line already checking -> if imagicno < 0 || imagicno >= 100 return ???
its only client side so why add something to server ?

mm i looked in server and for me it looks like its already checking for that in playermagichandler function -> if stype < 0 || stype >= 100 return !!
Charles
Loyal fan
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 8:20 pm

Post by Charles »

dumper wrote: but isnt that line already checking -> if imagicno < 0 || imagicno >= 100 return ???
its only client side so why add something to server ?

mm i looked in server and for me it looks like its already checking for that in playermagichandler function -> if stype < 0 || stype >= 100 return !!
because the client sends the message to the server telling the server that the player casted w/e spell and then back to client..
<i>"Always write good code. Feel bad to write bad code."</i>
bone-you
Spamtastic
Posts: 1310
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:12 am

Post by bone-you »

Sorry, I didn't know your server was unhackable. Next time I will assume it is and not tell you how to fix it because obviously you have it fixed even though you're asking how to fix it.


In case you don't catch my sarcasm, you asked how to fix it, I told you, then you don't believe me.

Who gives a shit what the client checks? Maybe not everyone is running your client. Maybe someone is sending packets with WPE. Regardless, there needs to be a check in the SERVER not the client.
<img src='http://www.helbreathx.net/sig/sig.jpeg' border='0' alt='user posted image' /><br><a href='http://mafia.cheats4us.org/index.php?x=231030' target='_blank'>#1 on Mafia :D</a><br><!--QuoteBegin-Slipknight+--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Slipknight)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->100mb Internet, burstable too 10GB oc192<br>his speed can go up too 10gbs<br>...<br>Yes my car can have a top speed of 1000mph<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='signature'><!--QuoteEEnd--><br>^^ I wonder where the retard went to.
Sprint
Spamtastic
Posts: 1000
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 6:59 am
Location: Far from home
Contact:

Post by Sprint »

bone-you wrote: Sorry, I didn't know your server was unhackable. Next time I will assume it is and not tell you how to fix it because obviously you have it fixed even though you're asking how to fix it.
owned
<span style='color:blue'><span style='font-size:19pt;line-height:100%'><u><b>FUCK Helbreath!</b></u></span></span><br><br><span style='color:gray'><a href='http://www2.analystica.com/users/anttu/online/ngd' target='_blank'>ngdnetwork</a> OFFICIAL WEBSITE OF Northern Game Developers. Do visit! (THEY ARE UP!)<br><a href='http://project3d.x.am' target='_blank'>Project3d development forum</a> plz join and discuss,develop,give ideas,feedback. Anything goes as long it helps the project!</span><br><br>Zepto Znote 6625WD: 1.8Ghz dual core, 2GB, 512mb graphics card(dedicated), 160GB HDD<br><img src='http://www.signaturebar.com/uploads/images/10111.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' /><br><img src='http://www.signaturebar.com/uploads/images/13229.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' /><br><img src='http://www.signaturebar.com/uploads/images/8852.png' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
dumper
Regular
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:25 pm

Post by dumper »

i think u got me wrong somehow ...
i only psted this -> mm i looked in server and for me it looks like its already checking for that in playermagichandler function -> if stype < 0 || stype >= 100 return !!

so im not sure if thats the line where it checks for out of range magic numbers ... i dont know how to use magic numbers above 99 so thats why im asking if thats right what i wrote !
Post Reply