Worldlserver Source

All Helbreath Server Source Discussion here.
Post Reply
Hypnotoad
Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 8:16 pm

Post by Hypnotoad »

It took about a month but the wait no more. The WorldLServer source is here. If you do not know what the world server does, basically it manages character creation and the saving of character data.

For the small private servers this means you can add new lines to the character file, such as a new stat like Agility, make characters have different clothing based on skills, new starting items, make them initially start at a different location based on a race, etc etc customization is limitless. For the large private servers this means the ability to convert to sql to make database management easier, changing the character save packets to stop lag during high traffic effents (crusades), etc.

This WorldLServer is a combination of 3.51 AND 2.03 world. Currently the functions are operational with the ASCII method and have been set in a way to make updating them very easy and uniform for everyone. Any function which is to be updated with SQL code has been commented with <span style='color:red'>"// todo: add SQL Code Here."</span> If you look in WorldLog.h there are a few incomplete functions; those include:

(1) those functions mentioned above which are only coded for the ASCII method but are missing the SQL functionality.

(2) functions which are incomplete or obsolete. I decided to put the update guild file in here because its really unused. Usually everytime a guildmember is added there name is added to a file which cooresponds their guild (Guild\\AscII%d\\GUILDNAME.txt). This list of names is not sent anywhere and is only a list to be read by the server administrator. I hope this doesn't cause any problem with guilds.

(3) functions which are not coded because they only serve a SQL purpose. The string of these functions has been dumped to make it easier if anyone wants to code this eg "select * from CHARACTER_T where cCharName = ('%s')"

Please release any changes in code which you feel improve the quality of the WorldLServer. This is a community process and should be treated as such. If the post-development progress is good and everyone shares the MainServer is sure to follow.

As for me I will work on the HGServer for a while updating it and finishing up any loose ends. I will also begin working on restructuring the ascii packets to change it from sending the whole txt to sending the raw data.

=========
DISCLAIMER
=========

If you have a server and want to change your worldlog to this i recommend you backup your character and guild data before and test the new world server, if everything is good then go ahead keep the new world server. I don't think anything will go wrong but just in case i dont want to be responsible for any problems. Just remember this is just released and tested by only 1 person.

If there are any problems with the .exe ifself such as an Access violation or bug please post this and it will be fixed asap. If you know C++ and would rather just post the fix, please post it here.

Just to reitterate please post any useful changes which you think can the community

i wonder if this can get its own section on outpost for this code...

=========
STARTING UP
=========
First load up Gate ->
then start Main and press home ->
then start World and wait till sockets are confirmed then press HOME ->
Start hgservers

NOTE: to update Noticement.txt without restarting press F2

=========
CHANGELOG
=========

May 21, 2006
- closed open character file which was causing 2 bugs (crash/disconnect when switching hgservers, and log->logout->character disappear)
- patched "extasis" hack
- fixed crash caused by extasis hack using address on permitted server list
- delete client after disconnecting extasis hgserver
Image

- removed sending WLServer.cfg and GateServer.cfg to hgserver. The hgserver doesnt need this information. All it does is give the hgserver a list of permitted ip addresses which can be a security risk.

- fixed "game-server-list = ". In WLServer.cfg add a new line for each ip address which is permitted to connect. If there are no "game-server-list" it is assumed that all hgservers will be accepted EVEN hacked or malicious
<img src='http://www.playah.no-ip.com/images/Hypn ... imated.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
SlammeR
Loyal fan
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:52 am
Location: Brazil

Post by SlammeR »

Thanks Hypno!
OWNED!<br><img src='http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/1386/p ... 3vsqn2.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' /><br><br><img src="http://hbtop50.com/button.php?u=hbuonline" alt="Helbreath Top 50 - Keepin' it real." border="0" /><br><a href='http://www.hbuonline.net' target='_blank'>Helbreath United</a>
juggalo2
Spamtastic
Posts: 1144
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:28 pm

Post by juggalo2 »

nice work Hypnotoad kedep it up :P
<img src='http://lifeplaysu420.com/unknow/nightsign.png' border='0' alt='user posted image' /><br>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<br>Wanna make money for surfing the net sing up at <br><a href='http://www.cashfiesta.com/php/join.php? ... yprivitera' target='_blank'>cash fiesta</a><br>its all free hey why ntot make money while fucking around on the computer<br><br><br>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
uusmart
noob
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 4:46 pm

Post by uusmart »

thank your very much!
Firestorm
Loyal fan
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 10:29 pm

Post by Firestorm »

Hypno you are amazing.
Treax2
Loyal fan
Posts: 281
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by Treax2 »

omg omg omg omg ... hloy shit .... Hypno u rox hard ... :D ^^

Now we can code whaterver we want :D so we can chnage even netmessage send notify things :D !!!!!! <-> ^^

DIE HACKERS!!!!!
Shetar
Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 12:57 am

Post by Shetar »

Connecting with a client gives me the "World Server not active" error. Did anyone else experience this?
Helbreath II Project Manager & All round Developer. <br><i>(Don't worry, we're not dead)</i>
Hypnotoad
Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 8:16 pm

Post by Hypnotoad »

Shetar wrote: Connecting with a client gives me the "World Server not active" error. Did anyone else experience this?
start like this:

- gate server
- main server press home
- world server wait till sockets are counted till 9, then press home
- start hgservers
<img src='http://www.playah.no-ip.com/images/Hypn ... imated.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
[51LV3RY]
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 5:51 pm

Post by [51LV3RY] »

I'm... having the same problem... :|

EDIT: Not anymore... different way to start xD
Shetar
Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 12:57 am

Post by Shetar »

It works, how come this differs from the regular WS?

Nice work.
Helbreath II Project Manager & All round Developer. <br><i>(Don't worry, we're not dead)</i>
Hypnotoad
Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 8:16 pm

Post by Hypnotoad »

I don't think its different...This is how i always start the World Server. G->M->W its alphabetical thats how i remember it. Its not a big deal, if you find it in the source and find a fix be my guest to share :)
<img src='http://www.playah.no-ip.com/images/Hypn ... imated.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
[51LV3RY]
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 5:51 pm

Post by [51LV3RY] »

Now... I hope some good coder out there could of fix the NPCItem.cfg thingy... which codes are included in HG 2.24b+
Shetar
Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 12:57 am

Post by Shetar »

Hypnotoad wrote: I don't think its different...This is how i always start the World Server. G->M->W its alphabetical thats how i remember it. Its not a big deal, if you find it in the source and find a fix be my guest to share :)
It's probably partly WL, partly ML. But you're right, someone aware of this issue just starts up the servers in the correct order.
Helbreath II Project Manager & All round Developer. <br><i>(Don't worry, we're not dead)</i>
[51LV3RY]
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 5:51 pm

Post by [51LV3RY] »

Sorry for bothering but I'm having a weird problem... the thing is that I log in as normal without any problem at all, then I log out and when I try to re-connect my character doesn't appear on the screen, so I can't select any (only create).
locobans
Outpost Junkie
Posts: 2264
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Behind You
Contact:

Post by locobans »

Nice release.

Pinned+1
QUOTE (ADDKiD @ Dec 1 2006, 4:01 PM) <br>You guys make me laugh alot, half the shit I say, is bullshit...<br><br><img src='http://img485.imageshack.us/img485/492/banssig1ng.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' /><br><br><b>I see no changes at all, wake up in the morning and ask myself...<br>Is life worth living? Should I blast myself?</b><br><br><b><a href='http://2paclegacy.com' target='_blank'>2PacLegacy.com</a></b>
Post Reply